EuroNASCAR PRO Entry List: A clash of champions

The wait is finally over! Next week the green flag will wave on the 2020 NASCAR Whelen Euro Series season at the Autodromo di Vallelunga in Rome, Italy with two action-packed days of Pure Racing. After a 20-week delay due to the global COVID pandemic, 25 cars and more than 40 drivers, representing 17 different countries, are eager to hit the track in the highly anticipated first edition of the Delphix / NSR American Festival Of Rome.


With an exciting two-day format, featuring two EuroNASCAR 2 races Saturday, September 12 and two EuroNASCAR Pro races on Sunday, September 13, the first visit to the 4 Km Autodromo Piero Taruffi of Rome will be a must-watch for all motorsport fans around the globe.

EuroNASCAR PRO: a clash of Champions

Season after season, the competition level in the EuroNASCAR PRO championship keeps rising to unprecedented levels. There will be 10 different drivers on the grid who won at least one NWES race across its two championships, but the list of potential winners in Rome is even more impressive, thanks to a unique mix of world class drivers.

Loris Hezemans, the youngest NWES champion in history, will be out defending his 2019 title against plenty of ambitious competitors on his #50 Hendriks Motorsport Mustang. The list can’t but start with two-time champion Alon Day, who will race for his arch-rival Anthony Kumpen at PK Carsport on the #24 Camaro backed by Monster Energy.

Formula 1 World Champion and Indianapolis 500 winner Jacques Villeneuve will be gunning for the biggest prize in EuroNASCAR in his second full-time season. The Canadian will pilot the #5 Camaro fielded by his own Feed Vict Racing team.

Next in line will definitely be Stienes Longin and Nicolo Rocca. Second and third in points in 2019, the two will put up their best effort to finally take the first step on the championship podium driving respectively for PK Carsport and DF1 Racing. Longin broke through with his first career ENPRO win at Zolder last year, while the Rocca moved to the Austrian powerhouse to wheel the #22 Camaro.

CAAL Racing will field a trio of title contenders in 2020: former EuroNASCAR 2 Champions Gianmarco Ercoli – the Italian will debut for his new team at his home track – and Thomas Ferrando, plus NWES veteran Marc Goossens. All of them had a taste of Victory Lane in EuroNASCAR PRO in the past and will surely battle out front.

A perennial title contender, 2010 NWES champion Lucas Lasserre will be back with Mishumotors and drive the #33 Chevrolet to chase his second ring after finishing third in 2018.

Fresh off a titanic battle for the title in EuroNASCAR 2, both the 2019 champion Lasse Soerensen and the runner-up Giorgio Maggi will step up to the PRO championship. Last year they proved plenty of times they could be competitive in the top NASCAR Whelen Euro Series category, will they live up to their expectations?

The list continues, because knocking on the imaginary Victory Lane door will also be ultra-competitive drivers the likes of Patrick Lemarie – the Frenchman will make his competition return alongside Jacques Villeneuve at Feed Vict Racing – Francesco Sini, who signed a technical alliance with CAAL Racing for his #12 Solaris Motorsport Camaro and Luigi Ferrara, who will lead the #42 Racing squad in the team’s first full-season NWES campaign. Coming from BTCC, Daniel Rowbottom will join the series driving the #48 Camaro for Marko Stipp Motorsport.

Since many title contenders are aged 25 and under, the Junior Trophy classification may easily mirror the EuroNASCAR PRO standings and everybody will chase Loris Hezemans once again, as the Dutchman aims at an unprecedented third Junior title in a row. 6 drivers will fight for the Junior Trophy in 2020 – including NWES veteran Justin Kunz, who will return to DF1 Racing at the wheel of the #99 Camaro.

The Challenger Trophy, on the other hand, will have a new champion. Dario Caso starts as the favorite having won the classification for silver and bronze drivers in 2016, Mauro Trione finished third and second in the last two season and wants to climb one more step on the podium, but several others are ready to contend: Evgeny Sokolovsky, Bernardo Manfrè and Fabio Spatafora.

Nwes Entry List Nascar Gp Italy 2020